Looking at the Upcoming Geelong Cup

The Geelong Cup is a Group 3 thoroughbred horse race, held under handicap conditions over a distance of 2400 metres. (Photo credit: Geelong Racecourse).

The Geelong Cup is a Group Three horse race which takes place at an Australian Racing Club of the same name. It’s held at the Geelong Racecourse, and traditionally takes place on a Wednesday, a full 13 days before the Melbourne Cup is run, with the date this year falling on the 25th of October. It an open handicap race that takes place over a distance of 2 400 meters, and forms part of the teeming Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

 A Rich History to the Horse Race

The Geelong Cup is steeped in a rich history, and can be dated back to the year 1873, in which Leo claimed the very first victory. At that point in time it was a Principal Race, 16 furlongs in length, and this structure remained unchanged until the Australian conversion to the metric system.

It officially became 2400 metres as of 1972, and seven years later the Cup came to be regarded as a Listed Race, with 2002 saw it gain its current Group Three Status. Geelong Cup Betting has been a part of this race for as long as the race itself has been run, although punting takes place primarily by means of the internet these days.

Interesting Facts about the Geelong Cup

  • Three winners of the Geelong Cup recently have gone on to win the Melbourne Cup, which takes place two weeks later:
    1. Media Puzzle
    2. Américain
    3. Dunaden
  • While it is a country cup, Geelong generally manages to attract a strong international field. Trainers based overseas enjoy using it as a tuneup for their horses before the big city events begin.
  • Since 1908, Geelong Racecourse has been known to be a good track in wet weather.
  • It is a Group Three race for Thoroughbreds, and horses of all ages and both sexes are allowed to take part.
  • Between 15 000 and 20 000 people attend each year.
  • The prize money is in excess of AU$300 000

The Geelong Cup Race History

The Geelong Racing Club was formed in 1866, and the first meet was held on the 18th and 19th of January that year. In 1878 a railway branch line out to the course was built, allowing race goers to gain access to the grounds more easily.

In 1907, both the Geelong Racecourse and the Geelong showground were moved to the Breakwater Road site in East Geelong, where both still stand. In March of 1908, the first race meet was held at the new Breakwater location, and the initial meet for the Geelong Racing Club took place there on the 12th of December of that year as well.

Recent Winners of the Geelong Cup

Qewy won the Geelong Cup in 2016, and has run second in the Goodwood, England, Summer Stakes over a total of 2 816 meters. Other recent Geelong Cup winners include Almoonqith, who took first place in 2015, and Caravan Rolls On, who won the race in 2014.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

NTRA Top Thoroughbred Poll

No. Horse Points
1 Flightline 351
2 Life Is Good 306
3 Olympiad 292
4 Jackie's Warrior 282
5 Clairiere 142
5 Country Grammer 142
7 Epicenter 121
8 Regal Glory 89
9 Nest 87
10 Hot Rod Charlie 48
As of August 1, 2022

DRF Past Performances

Check out the most powerful
interactive Past Performances
used by Michael Dempsey. Use the code TENOFF19 which gives
you a 10% discount on any DRF Formulator plan that is one month or longer.


Free Horse Racing Picks

Get free horse racing picks each day from expert race handicapper Michael Dempsey Click Here

Belmont Stakes News & Reports
Breeders' Cup
Turf ‘n’ Sport handicapper Michael Dempsey has the Belmont Stakes covered with his selections, analysis and fair odds for every race on the card!
Wager on the Belmont Stakes
Belmont Stakes News

Belmont Stakes Reports

Horse Racing Betting Tips

Horse Racing Betting Tips
Turf 'n' Sport handicappers give out basic horse racing handicapping information..