Saratoga Race Course

Saratoga Race Course

Main Track: One and one eighth’s Mile, oval.
Mellon Course: One Mile, 98 feet.
Turf Course: Seven Furlongs, 304 feet.
Distance from last turn to finish line: 1,144 feet.

Post Times
1:00 p.m

Exotic Wagering Format
$1. Daily Double on races 1 and 2, 6 and 7, and on last two races.
$1. Additional Double on 2nd and 3rd races when Steeplechase is first race.
$1. Exacta on all races.
$1. Quinella on races 2 and 4.
$1. “Rolling” Pick 3 begining on 2nd race. (except for race that starts the pick four)
$1. Pick 4 on races 2-5 and last four races.
$1. Pick 4 on races 3-6 and last four races when Steeplechase is first race.
$1. Trifecta on every race with 6 or more betting interests.
$1. Superfecta on last race. (Two additional superfectas on selected races daily)
$2. Pick 6 on last six races.
$1. Grand Slam begins on race 5 (9-race card) and race 6 (10-race card).

Takeout Information
Win, place, and show: 14%
Daily Double, Quinella, and Exacta: 17.5%
Trifecta, Superfecta, Pick 3, Pick 4 and Grand Slam: 25%
Pick 6: 25% (15% on non-carryover days)

Contact Information

Mailing Address:
New York Racing Association, Inc.
P.O. Box 90
Jamaica, New York 11417

Street Address:
Union Avenue
Saratoga Springs, New York 12866

Telephone: Office (718) 641-4700; Track (518) 584-6200
Fax: None available

Saratoga Race Course opened in 1864 and since 1865 has been the site of the Travers Stakes, the oldest major thoroughbred horse race in America. The Travers Stakes continues to be the main draw at Saratoga and has seen a few Triple Crown Race winners lead the pack in recent years, including Bernardini in 2006.

Saratoga is commonly referred to as the Graveyard of Favorites due to numerous upsets that have occurred there in the past. Some of these famous upset include the only defeat on Man O’ War, Secretariat’s defeat to Onion after winning the Triple Crown, and Triple Crown winner Gallant Fox was a shocking loser to 100-to-1 underdog Jim Dandy in the 1930 Travers Stakes.

Stakes Races
Alabama Stakes (Gr.1)
Ballerina Handicap (Gr.1)
Diana Handicap (Gr.1)
Forego Handicap (Gr.1)
Go For Wand Handicap (Gr.1)
Hopeful Stakes (Gr.1)
King's Bishop Stakes (Gr.1)
Personal Ensign Handicap (Gr.1)
Spinaway Stakes (Gr.1)
Sword Dancer Handicap (Gr.1)
Travers Stakes (Gr.1)
Whitney Handicap (Gr.1)
Woodward Stakes (Gr.1)
Adirondack Stakes (Gr.2)
Alfred G. Vanderbilt Handicap (Gr.2)
Amsterdam Stakes (Gr.2)
Ballston Spa Breeders' Cup Handicap (Gr.2)
Bernard Baruch Handicap (Gr.2)
Fourstardave Handicap (Gr.2)
Honorable Miss Handicap (Gr.2)
Jim Dandy Stakes (Gr.2)
Lake Placid Handicap (Gr.2)
National Museum of Racing Hall of Fame Handicap (Gr.2)
Sanford Stakes (Gr.2)
Saratoga Special Stakes (Gr.2)
Glens Falls Handicap (Gr.3)
Lake George Stakes (Gr.3)
Saranac Handicap (Gr.3)
Schuylerville Stakes (Gr.3)
Victory Ride Stakes (Gr.3)
A.P. Smithwick Memorial Stakes
Albany Stakes
Darley Test Stakes
De La Rose Stakes
John Morrissey Stakes
John’s Call Stakes
New York Stallion Series Cab Calloway Division
New York Stallion Series Statue of Liberty Division
New York Turf Writers Cup
P.G. Johnson Stakes
The Saratoga Dew
Troy Stakes
Union Avenue Stakes
Waya Stakes
West Point Handicap
With Anticipation Stakes
Yaddo Handicap