Saratoga Race Course

Saratoga Race Course

Main Track: One and one eighth’s Mile, oval.
Mellon Course: One Mile, 98 feet.
Turf Course: Seven Furlongs, 304 feet.
Distance from last turn to finish line: 1,144 feet.

Post Times
1:00 p.m


Exotic Wagering Format
$1. Daily Double on every race.
$1. Exacta on all races.
$1. Quinella on races 2 and 4.
$1. “Rolling” Pick 3 begining on 2nd race. (except for race that starts the pick four)
$1. Pick 4 on races 2-5 and last four races.
$1. Pick 4 on races 3-6 and last four races when Steeplechase is first race.
$1. Trifecta on every race with 6 or more betting interests.
$1. Superfecta on last race. (Two additional superfectas on selected races daily)
$2. Pick 6 on last six races.
$1. Grand Slam begins on race 5 (9-race card) and race 6 (10-race card).

Takeout Information
Win, place, and show: 16%
Daily Double, Quinella, and Exacta: 18.5%
Trifecta, Superfecta, Pick 3, Pick 4 and Grand Slam: 24%
Pick 6: 25% (15% on non-carryover days)

Contact Information

Mailing Address:
New York Racing Association, Inc.
P.O. Box 90
Jamaica, New York 11417

Street Address:
Union Avenue
Saratoga Springs, New York 12866

Telephone: Office (718) 641-4700; Track (518) 584-6200
Fax: None available
Website: www.nyra.com

Saratoga Race Course opened in 1864 and since 1865 has been the site of the Travers Stakes, the oldest major thoroughbred horse race in America. The Travers Stakes continues to be the main draw at Saratoga and has seen a few Triple Crown Race winners lead the pack in recent years, including Bernardini in 2006.

Saratoga is commonly referred to as the Graveyard of Favorites due to numerous upsets that have occurred there in the past. Some of these famous upset include the only defeat on Man O’ War, Secretariat’s defeat to Onion after winning the Triple Crown, and Triple Crown winner Gallant Fox was a shocking loser to 100-to-1 underdog Jim Dandy in the 1930 Travers Stakes.

Stakes races:

DATE RACE GR. PURSE

Fri., July. 20 Schuylerville III $150,000
  Lake George III $150,000
Sat., July. 21 Diana I $500,000
  Sanford III $150,000
Sun., July 22 Coaching Club American Oaks I $300,000
Mon., July. 23 Caress   $200,000

Wed., July. 25 Honorable Miss Hdcp. II $200,000
Thurs., July. 26 A. P. Smithwick Mem. (S’Chase) I $150,000
  John Morrissey (NYB)   $100,000
Fri., July. 27 Curlin   $100,000
Sat., July. 28 Jim Dandy II $600,000
  Alfred G. Vanderbilt Hdcp. I $350,000
  Bowling Green II $250,000
  Amsterdam III $200,000
Sun., July. 29 Shuvee Hdcp. III $200,000
Mon., July. 30 Coronation Cup   $100,000

Wed., Aug. 1 Shine Again   $100,000
Thurs., Aug. 2 Birdstone   $100,000
Fri., Aug. 3 Nat’l Museum of Racing Hall Of Fame II $200,000
Sat., Aug. 4 Whitney I $1,200,000
  Longines Test I $500,000
  Waya III $200,000
  Lure   $100,000
  De La Rose   $100,000
Sun., Aug. 5 Troy III $200,000
  Alydar   $100,000
Mon., Aug. 6 NYSS Cab Calloway   $100,000

Wed., Aug. 8 Quick Call   $100,000
Thurs., Aug. 9 NYSS Statue of Liberty   $100,000
Fri., Aug. 10 Tale of the Cat   $100,000
Sat., Aug. 11 Fourstardave Hdcp. I $500,000
  Adirondack II $200,000
Sun., Aug. 12 Saratoga Special, presented by Miller Lite II $200,000
Mon., Aug. 13 Saratoga Dew (NYB)   $100,000

Wed., Aug. 15 Bolton Landing   $100,000
Thurs., Aug. 16 Union Avenue (NYB)   $100,000
Fri., Aug. 17 Skidmore   $100,000
Sat., Aug. 18 Alabama I $600,000
  Lake Placid II $300,000
Sun., Aug. 19 Summer Colony   $100,000
Mon., Aug. 20 Evan Shipman (NYB)   $100,000

Wed., Aug. 22 John’s Call   $100,000
Thurs., Aug 23 Riskaverse   $100,000
  New York Turf Writers Cup (S’chase) I $150,000
Fri., Aug. 24 Albany (NYB)   $250,000
  Fleet Indian (NYB)   $200,000
  Funny Cide (NYB)   $200,000
  Seeking the Ante (NYB)   $200,000
  West Point (NYB), presented by Trustco Bank   $150,000
  Yaddo (NYB)   $150,000
Sat., Aug. 25 Travers I $1,250,000
  Sword Dancer I $1,000,000
  Personal Ensign I $700,000
  Forego I $600,000
  Ballerina I $500,000
  H. Allen Jerkens Memorial I $500,000
  Woodford Reserve Ballston Spa II $400,000
Sun., Aug. 26 Smart N Fancy   $100,000

Better Talk Now   $100,000

Wed., Aug. 29 With Anticipation III $150,000
Thurs., Aug. 30 P. G. Johnson   $100,000
Fri., Aug. 31 Lucky Coin   $100,000
Sat., Sept. 1 The Woodward I $750,000
  Spinaway I $350,000
  Saranac III $300,000
  Glens Falls II $250,000
Sun., Sept. 2 Prioress II $250,000
Mon., Sept. 3 Hopeful I $350,000
  Bernard Baruch Hdcp. II $250,000