Kentucky Derby Results: Orb Relishes Off Track to Take Run for Roses

Orb wins the 139th running of the Kentucky Derby (photo credit: Churchill Downs)

For once the “buzz” horse on the backstretch during Derby Week came up huge on Saturday afternoon as the Shug McGaughey trained Orb relished the off track at Churchill Downs to win the 139th running of the Kentucky Derby.

Sent off at 5-1 in a field of 19, jockey Joel Rosario got a perfect set up as the early pace was brisk, setting things up for Orb’s late running style.

The win gave the hall of fame trainer his first Derby win. McGaughey had not started a runner in the Derby since 2002 when Saarland checked in tenth. His best finish was with Easy Goer, who ran second to Sunday Silence in the 1989 Run for the Roses.

Orb won his fourth start in a row and third consecutive stakes race. The colt won the Fountain of Youth (G2) and Florida Derby (G1) in his two previous starts, both with jockey John Velazquez aboard.

Velazquez elected to ride the undefeated Verrazano for trainer Todd Pletcher, who weakened in the stretch to finish a well beaten 14th.

Longshot Golden Soul also benefitted from the fast pace early and rallied to finish in the runner up spot, completing a $2 exacta that returned $981.60.

Revolutionary came up the inside under three-time Derby winning jockey Calvin Borel but had to settle for third, completing a trifecta that paid $3,462.80 for $1.

The Chad Brown trained Normandy Invasion checked in fourth with the $1 superfecta paying $28,542.00

The second jewel of racing’s Triple Crown is the Preakness Stakes at Pimlico in Baltimore, Md. on Saturday May 18.


 Payoffs for 139th Running of the Kentucky Derby

Horse Win Place Show
Orb $12.80 $7.40 $5.40
Golden Soul $38.60 $19.40
Revolutionary $5.40

$2 Exacta: (16-4) paid $981.60; $1 Trifecta: (16-4-3) paid $3,462.80; $1 Superfecta: (16-4-3-5) paid $28,542.00.


Replay of 139th running of the Kentucky Derby


Running Order for 139th running of Kentucky Derby

Place Horse Jockey Trainer
1 Orb Joel Rosario Claude R. McGaughey III
2 Golden Soul Robby Albarado Dallas Stewart
3 Revolutionary Calvin Borel  Todd Pletcher
4 Normandy Invasion Javier Castellano Chad Brown
5 Mylute Rosie Napravnik Tom Amoss
6 Oxbow Gary Stevens D. Wayne Lukas
7 Lines of Battle Ryan Moore Aidan O’Brien
8 Will Take Charge Jon Court D. Wayne Lukas
9 Charming Kitten Edgar Prado Todd Pletcher
10 Giant Finish Jose L. Espinoza  Anthony W. Dutrow
11 Overanalyze  Rafael Bejarano Todd Pletcher 
12 Palace Malice Mike Smith Todd Pletcher 
13 Java’s War  Julien Leparoux Kenny McPeek
14 Verrazano John R. Velazquez Todd Pletcher
15 Itsmyluckyday Elvis Trujillo Eddie Plesa, Jr. 
16 Frac Daddy Victor Lebron  Kenny McPeek
17 Goldencents Kevin Krigger  Doug O’Neill 
18 Vyjack Garrett Gomez Rudy Rodriguez
19 Falling Sky  Luis Saez  John Terranova II